shoutcast streams on Amarok 1.4.5

Posted: May 13, 2007 in linux, zeroes and ones

amarok-wolfit is good to know that Amarok 1.4.5 has included a lot in its default Radio Streams playlist. while before there was only Cool-Streams, now one has a wider selection of streaming music to choose from with the inclusion of Shoutcast Streams. awesome!

definitely streaming has improved much too. there is that occasional hiccup. but it is very close to being negligible. the equalizer is better. more support for media devices. etc.. .

perhaps the one thing i would like added to the next amarok release is support for the Samba protocol. while NFS is there, sadly, it is still and will very much likely always be a Windows world in the centuries to come. there is a treasure trove of music available in our office LAN. and most of my officemates just share it. the internet of yesterday and today, after all, has been all about sharing. heck why not in your own network? at least that’s how peer-2-peer and file-sharing apps and/or protocols even started, right? to bring us closer to everything and everyone. to put this context not so precisely in a phrase – “it’s a wired world.” – which reminds me of another kewl sharing thing – last.fm. amarok submits the informatoin of the audio tracks you listen to for you. see that “amaroking to” on my sidebar? it’s a last.fm thing! thanks to amarok.. .

you can get more of amarok at their official website: http://amarok.kde.org/.

Comments
  1. Eu says:

    Samba: doesn’t installing a samba client on your linux box and mounting the samba network shares help?

    I haven’t touched linux in years, but if I recall correctly, this should be doable.

  2. Miko says:

    Hehe dunno dude. I was actually referring to the ones that I hope are still stashed away on my workstation there. Some I have sets of mp3 on the Windows and Linux partition. Hahay, what a waste 😦

    Um yeah. Is it ok if I just drop the cam tomorrow? Hehe….I won’t go through past the gate lol

  3. yamz says:

    i think i still have some of your Linux CDs here mik. maybe the mp3s are on one of these CDs?

  4. Miko says:

    Oh, yeah. Which reminds me. Those vintage mp3’s I left in my workstation? I really wish there was some way to get those back. And they were really so hard to find…

  5. yamz says:

    hahaha.. . sure dude!

    as to KDE or GNOME, it doesn’t really matter. as long as you are comfortable with the environment and you got your favorite apps, then you’re good to go. from what i’ve observed, both KDE and GNOME need each other. there are things that one doesn’t have and the other has.. . and vice versa. it’s all about preference after all. something that Linux is able to provide us without a sweat.

  6. Jon says:

    I got my favorite 80’s stations already!! Care to share your club/techno/trance stations? I got half a mind to go KDE all the way (something I wouldn’t have imagined doing up to last week, since 99) but my pride’s holding me back. Hahaha! So much for being a staunch GNOME user!

Leave a Reply

